Welcome Charlie!

IMG_3111

We had a very busy Friday! I started having contractions at 3am, but I fell asleep around 6am. I’ve never been more disappointed to fall asleep, but in hindsight, it was probably a good thing that I got in that hour and a half nap. I had a midwife appointment at 9am, and was 3cm and 50% effaced. I was glad something was happening, since I had been having 1-3 hrs of prodromal labor for about a week. I had four contractions while I was at the appointment, and they continued to pick back up after I left. H and I went for a walk on-campus while Steve had a meeting, then we went out for BBQ. I learned my lesson last time that food is good for labor. By 2pm, the contractions were 2-4 minutes apart, lasting for about a minute, so we decided to head into the hospital since we had friends who could watch H for the night.

When we got there labor slowed down a bit and there were a few minutes where they thought they would send me home. Labor was stalling because I had to be on the bed while they monitored me. However, I was certain I could get this show on the road if I could walk/move around. We got into a room around 4:30, and we started walking around trying to get the contractions more consistent and productive. I had some pain cycle issues with not wanting to stay in positions that would help bring Charlie down. He was around -2 or -1 until the very end. And Steve did so awesome as a coach. He helped suggest different positions to help keep the contractions consistent and productive, which was very helpful. He even managed to keep me calm and focused during most of transition. There are two hours where I know I was only focused on him telling me when to breathe and telling me that he knew I could do it. Towards 10p, I really, really, really wanted something to take the edge off, but it was a no-go since I was at a 9. I remember saying that I hoped the baby was having decels so I could have a c-section. So, yeah- my head space was not good there. But, Steve got me back on track. We moved from the birth ball to the bed to get set up for delivery.

I had another two contractions, and my water broke. After that happened, I knew it wouldn’t be too much longer before the baby came, but I didn’t want to believe it.

As my midwife was getting set up, I asked for someone to apply counter-pressure. They all assured me that I was okay and it would still be a little bit because Charlie was still very high. Apparently, my body knew my desire for a 4/8 baby, because I had another contraction, pushed twice, and Charlie was out at 11:30. It was super surprising for everyone involved. Because he came so fast, he had a little bit of fluid in his lungs and I have a second degree tear, and about 6 stitches, but we are both doing well now.

So, even though it was super hard and rather intense at the end, I got the birth I really wanted (no meds, intervention and induction free). Yay!

IMG_3148

We have been home a few days, and everyone seems to be settling in nicely. H is such a good big brother already, even though he’s a bit reluctant about touching (or getting too close) to Charlie. He is genuinely concerned at the crying, and really wants to know how to help the baby.

IMG_3161

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Welcome Charlie!

  1. caryn says:

    welcome to the world charlie, I can’t wait to meet him! his going home outfit was beautiful!

  2. Yarnista says:

    Congratulations, and thank you for sharing! He is gorgeous!

  3. jennifer says:

    how sweet, congratulations! and what a precious little handknit outfit 🙂

  4. Kristyn says:

    He is beautiful. COngratulations!

Leave a Reply

