the start of canning season

In the midst of the hustle and bustle of the last week and a half, I found time to do some canning.  One of my dreams is to have a large, walk-in pantry in our house.  We had a butler’s pantry in one of the houses we rented and I loved it.  And, even though we don’t really have a pantry here, I’m certainly attempting to fill all of our space with homemade yumminess this year.

First off, I made peach and apricot jam.  I think the peach set a little better, but time will tell.

peach jam

Then, I made watermelon rind pickles.  I think these will end up more like a candied fruit rind crossed with a pickled fruit.  My mind can’t help going to dill pickle taste, but with watermelon.  Not good.  They smelled good though.

watermelon rind pickles

Then Steve got a note from one of his former students offering us free blackberries.  There was no way we could pass that up!  So I made 8 pints of blackberry jam (and we still have blackberries left over)!

blackberry jam

All the recipes came from the Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving.  If you’ve got a good jam/jelly/sauce/pickle recipe, please feel free to pass it my way.

I have visions of canning lots and lots of tomatoes (whole, crushed, tomato paste, ketchup, and bbq sauce), but I need to find a place to get lots of tomatoes at once.  We shall see.

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the start of canning season

  1. Julie says:

    I’ve definitely been feeling the urge to get into canning this year, and this post makes me want to even more!! I recently took the book you recommended out of the library, but I think I’m going to have to flat-out buy it- so many amazing looking recipes!!

    • Jenna says:

      I love it. Although I dislike the hot, muggy kitchen. But, this time I set up a few fans blowing in different directions and that seemed to help.

Leave a Reply

