hot

So, this is my first full summer in TX.  Last year we moved in July.  I was prepared for the heat then.  I can most definitely say that my body is rejecting mid-90s in May.  It is so warm.  It makes me want to just curl up with a bed made of ice.  Have I mentioned yet that I’m not a fan of hot-hot-hot weather?

I think part of the reason I dislike the heat so much is that it zaps my will to go outside, or really do anything productive.  It means that I have to get all of my household chores done by 10am so I’m not dripping with sweat later on. That said, I braved the zoo with H on Tuesday (when it was only in the upper 80s) while Steve was working.  Even if it was hot, it was a nice time.  We went in the mid-afternoon and we only saw 4 other people.  It was like having the zoo all to ourselves.  We also got to see the jaguar cubs:

And H enjoyed being the only kid on the playground:

The start of summer also means that I have to start thinking carefully about what I knit, because you do not want a lapful of wool when it is 80 inside. This is particularly problematic when a lot of my design work is for fall/winter.  Luckily spinning doesn’t take much fiber in the lap. Sadly, I have no pictures.

The citron shawl is also coming along.  I’m on section 5 (the last one in the pattern), but I’m hoping to add at least one more repeat (two if I’m not sick of it by then).

This entry was posted in knitting, mommyhood, random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment