Sock’s Revived- Octopus’ Garden

Designed for the Socks Revived Contest hosted by Elinor of Exercise Before Knitting.

Even though real octopi don’t collect shiny objects, the imagery in this song has stayed with me. The lyrics (and various Muppet versions) combined with the happy, Caribbean colors in the yarn inspired me to create these socks. The stitch pattern reminds me of the movements of the octopus as he crawls along the sea floor.

The sock is worked cuff down with instructions for a short row heel. If short row heels aren’t your thing, feel free to pm me for a standard heel option.

You can get the pattern for free on my design blog or on Ravelry.

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sock’s Revived- Octopus’ Garden

  1. Linda Morse says:

    Jenna: Love your patterns. Recently purchased your Starbright, Starlight pattern. I love the Octopus’ Garden pattern but would like the standard heel option. I am one of the Cultured Purl groupies.

    • Jenna says:

      Linda, Hi! I’m working on the heel numbers as I type. Hopefully I’ll have them up by the end of today.

Leave a Reply

