Not a baby anymore

This morning I headed out with H.  He was a bit past due for his 2 year well baby visit.  The morning was rough.  He decided to sleep in on the one day we needed to be out of the house.  He was disoriented while Steve and I changed him, he didn’t really get breakfast (apple, milk, and fruit bar in the car), and he was not happy about his routine being changed.  He sobbed when Steve went to work and we continued on.  He wailed when it was time to go into the dr’s office and we had to stop watching Cars in the waiting room.  He cried when he had to be undressed, weighed, measured, and get his temperature taken.  He was calm for the doctor (who said he is going fine, super smart, and well above average in terms of mental capacity!).  But then he had to have a shot, the flu mist, and a blood draw (they do a 2 yr lead and anemia check in TX).

When all was said and done, it was a lot of trauma for 9:00 in the morning.  So I decided to drive over to Panera to let him have half a cookie as a treat.  He did so well, walking and staying by my side while picking out his cookie and milk.  And he sat, ate, and drank quietly and politely.  As I watched him, I wondered where my baby had gone.  He was the epitome of perfect toddler behavior.  He said please and thank you.  He waited patiently while I got up to get water.  I’m sure that if you came in after us, you would have never known there was a child in the room.  It was so nice to just sit and enjoy his company.  There were no dishes wanting me to clean them, no laundry to be changed, no TV to beg for.  Just H and I enjoying a lovely morning treat.  I want to wrap those 45 minutes up as a gift for myself to open years later when I have a teenager and not a toddler.  I want to remember what it is like to see the world through my son’s eyes, because he is so curious, inquisitive, and wondrous.  I try to treasure each day with him, because I know they will eventually come to an end.

This entry was posted in mommyhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not a baby anymore

  1. Julie says:

    oh, what a lovely post. I’m actually a bit teary, and I don’t even have little ones yet!! It’s wonderful that you are being such a concious mom, trying to make sure to appreciate the good.

    • Jenna says:

      Thanks, Julie. I really try to focus on all the wonderful things about my kid. It’s so easy to complain, but it gets old quickly.

Leave a Reply

