Olympic Thoughts

The Olympics bring a time of triumph and tragedy to athletes and knitters alike.

I’m all signed up for the Ravelympics and on the Yarn Harlot’s page.

For those who don’t know, here’s a quick summary of the rules:

1. The project must be a challenge for you to complete in 17 days.
2. There are no rules about what a challenge would be. Like the real Olympics, there are many areas to compete in.
3. While this is intended to be somewhat difficult (like the Olympics) it is not intended to ruin your life. Don’t set yourself up for failure. (Olympic athletes may cry, but they do not whine pitifully, sob and threaten members of their family with pointed sticks because they haven’t slept in five days. ) This is intended to (like the Olympics) require some measure of sacrifice, and be difficult, but it should be possible to attain.
4. No casting on before the flame is lit. (The opening ceremonies run from 6-8 pst. If you can’t watch, then I’d pick a time in there.)
5. Finish before the flame goes out.

My project is Mystere from Twist Collective.  I’m using Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Jalapeno.  Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Olympic Thoughts

  1. Wow, that sweater looks lovely and challenging. Good luck with it and I’ll see you at the finish line with my Selbu Modern Hat — knit on!

  2. Jenna says:

    Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. Julie says:

    good luck!! I love the Ravelympics, this will be my seocnd one and I’m pretty excite,d too. 🙂

  4. karen says:

    I really like Mystere. I’m glad you’re making something for yourself–I figure that if you’re knitting a whole sweater in 17 days you had best get something lovely for yourself at the end.

    • Jenna says:

      Karen, so true. I love the finished sweater it fits so well! Pictures/post to come soon. It’s still blocking, so it’s a bit wet.

Leave a Reply

