Why I Love Etsy

I love Etsy.  I love to browse around.  I love typing in random search terms and seeing what pops up. But most of all, I love getting the chance to support small business that I would have never shopped at otherwise (mostly because I wouldn’t know they exist).

First up, Yarn Pirate.  By no means is Georgia’s etsy shop new to me, but I always love getting her hand-dyed yarn in the mail.  She was (and still is) having a sale in the shop, so I used the opportunity to do a little stash enhancement.

This is BFL Aran in Olive Grove (variegated) and Olive Juice (semi-solid):

It is supremely soft and squishable.  I’m hoping to make a pair of striped longies for H.  Or maybe something else if I get inspired… sweater?

I also picked up a skein of the organic merino:

This is for me, probably.   This skein is a generous 260 yards.  I’m still deciding what I want to make with it.  Maybe matching winter accessories?  Not that I really need them in TX.  Also, I just want to mention the softness of this yarn.  I figured it would be a little rougher, like the other organic merino I’d touched before, but this yarn is definitely soft enough for next to the skin wear.  So soft that I wouldn’t hesitate to use it for a baby sweater.

Next up is a shop I found by searching for bath bubbles.  As a side note, Etsy really isn’t the place to shop for bubble bath.  That said, Red Leaf is a great bath and body shop.  I was so intrigued by  their bubble bath dough that I had to order some.  I got the oatmeal, milk, and honey scent.  I also threw in a shave cube in plumeria.

In the notes to seller I requested a scent sample of the black tea, since I wasn’t sure I’d like it, something like the room spray spritzed on a piece of paper.  Instead, Chris sent a soap sample to try out.  Super customer service!

The soap and shave cubes are completely awesome.  I’ve never used a coconut oil based soap before, and whether it is that or some other magic, my skin has never been so soft after shaving in the winter.  The cube also lathers up like crazy, which is fun in addition to being practical.  I mean, who doesn’t love soapy bubbles?  And I was pleasantly surprised to find the plumeria nicely floral and not at all overpowering.

Now to the bubble bath dough.

I cannot tell you how happy I was when the mail came during H’s nap time and I could hurry up and try out this product.  And then I can’t tell you how disappointed I was when I couldn’t get my dough to bubble.  Seriously, so bummed out.  I got in the tub, and rubbed the dough under the running water.  All I got was a few measly bubbles, but a very nicely scented bath.

I had the feeling something was wrong, so when I got out of the tub, I tried a little bit in my bathroom sink.  Holy bubbles batman!

I really should have re-read the product description before I tried out my bath: “The key to lots and lots of bubbles is agitating the water.” Uh, yeah.  On to take two. Run water, rub dough, agitate water, agitate water, agitate water, then get in.  Much better bubbles this time around.

The oatmeal, milk, and honey scent smells more like almond than anything else, but still nice.  Just a bit different than I was expecting.  I really can’t wait to order more in the lavender scent.

The key to lots and lots of bubbles is agitating the waterThe key to lots and lots of bubbles is agitating the water
This entry was posted in knitting, random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Love Etsy

  1. Julie says:

    ooh, definitely some great Etsy purchases!! I find Etsy so addictive.

Leave a Reply

