I meant to post this last week

Time, where does it go?

I had a pretty crafty Labor Day weekend.  A friend came over and we did some sewing. I made a new needle case for my DPNs out of the cute owl fabric.  It is much better than my previous attempt and I even put some felt stabilizer in between the layers so the case wouldn’t flop around so much.

I’m almost finished with the shawl, just 15 or so more rows to go!  I’m trying really hard not to cast on anything else until I get some of these projects off the needles.  Also, it would be nice to have a non-secret project to show on the blog.

In other crafty news, I got a Spin-It kit from the Yarn Pirate.  I’m very pleased with the way the yarn is coming out.  I’ve only ever done super small (like quarter of an ounce) quantities on my spindle, so this is all new and different for me.  It’s also quite different than the spinning I’ve done on a wheel, but I like it.  However, if anyone knows of an easy way to ply on a drop spindle, I’d be grateful, since right now I’m making two center pull balls and ‘holding’ them with my feet while I try to ply successfully.  Steve just laughs when he sees me, and I can’t blame him.

This entry was posted in knitting, random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I meant to post this last week

  1. karen says:

    What kind of stabilizer did you use?

    I’m thinking a case for the DPNs is a very good idea when a toddler is around…

  2. Jenna says:

    It is incredibly helpful, unless your toddler knows how to untie things. I used a fusible fleece, but I have no idea what it was. It works well though.

Leave a Reply

