I spent 4 hours at the DTS and all I got was this lousy piece of paper

So, Friday I went to get my TX license at the Department of Transportation Services.  Steve warned me that it would take awhile (he was there for a total of 3 hours, including the drive to and from).  I came prepared.  I brought a few cookbooks to make my grocery list, a new pair of socks, and a new pair of longies for this coming winter.  I should have known it was going to be a long day after it took my 45 minutes to get my number.  I was 89, they were on 64.  Then the computers went down and everything went as slow as molasses on a cold day.  I called Steve to come get me when they were 3 numbers away.  It took me another 45 minutes for them to call me and another 20 to get my fake license.  Seriously, I now have a piece of paper that any computer literate teenager could duplicate.  Supposedly, I’ll get my real license in the mail in 6-8 weeks.

Needless to say, I was incredibly frustrated.  On the up side, I got the grocery list finished up, the cuff of the sock completed, and the waistband done for the longies.

In other knitting news, I frogged my Leyburn socks.  The toe up construction wasn’t working for me.  I think I needed to either add more stitches or work longer, because the heel kept coming about an inch before it should.  And I swear I can measure correctly most days.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I spent 4 hours at the DTS and all I got was this lousy piece of paper

  1. MsLindz says:

    I think my worst DMV experiences have been in South Carolina. Thankfully I didn’t have to deal with the one in CT (I hear it’s not great) and the one here in Ohio has been pretty easy to deal with. I’ve been lucky that every time I’ve gone, I haven’t had to wait long. What a pain! At least you had something to help you pass the time!!

    Sorry to hear about the Leyburns! Sometimes patterns just don’t work out like you’d hoped, no matter how you try. Very pretty yarn, though 🙂

  2. Jenna says:

    True enough. I feel like I should have more to show for my 4 hours. 🙂

    And yeah, the yarn is from Indie Dyer and it is super gorgeous and soft. I really want to love the socks I make from it, so better to frog and be happy later than to make something I’ll never wear.

Leave a Reply

