This was going to be about knitting…


I am so incredibly happy today.  Yesterday, I voted, hoping that there would be change in our country.  I voted for my son.  I voted for his future.  During the primaries,  I couldn’t seem to express how happy it made me to choose between a woman and a candidate of color.  It was extremely satisfying to be able to choose someone other than a white male in my lifetime.  And it wasn’t lost on me that not too long ago, women and minorities weren’t permitted to vote.  Throughout the election process, I felt terrified that things wouldn’t turn out the way I hoped they would.  But, for once, the general population has proved me wrong.


I am proud that so many people came out to vote yesterday.  That so many people took the time to educate themselves about the candidates and the issues.  I can only hope and pray that this trend continues and that people start realizing that their votes do make a difference.  I wish people would start realizing that being educated and wanting to better yourself doesn’t make you elitist.   It makes you involved and engaged.  

The one dim spot in an otherwise joyous day is that Californians passed Prop. 8.  I’m not sure why people are so afraid of change.  Hopefully, this type of thinking will change in the coming years as well.  Because I don’t want to raise my children in a country that promises freedom of religion, but then denies two people marriage because of their interpretation of the Bible.  

For the first time in a long time, I can say that my country has made me proud.  I hope the trend continues.  I feel like I can breathe a sigh of relief and I can’t wait to see what happens next.
(originally published 11/5/2008)
This entry was posted in mommyhood, random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

